2021 Elections:EC Kicks Off Demarcation of Parliamentary Constituencies,Local Government Polling Stations

2021 Elections:EC Kicks Off Demarcation of Parliamentary Constituencies,Local Government Polling Stations

By Andrew Irumba

Kampala: In accordance with Article 63 (1) of the Constitution of the Republic of Uganda, Parliament of Uganda on 30th July 2020, prescribe that the number of directly elected Members of the 11th Parliament shall be three hundred and fifty-three (353), due to creation of more Constituencies.

READ ALSO: We Consulted MoH: EC Boss Justice Byabakama Explains Why Gov’t Banned Mass Political Rallies Ahead Of 2021 Elections

Therefore, according to the statement released by the Electoral Commission signed by the chairman Justice Byabakama Mugenyi Simon, as part of the preparations for the conduct of the 2020/2021 General Elections, and in accordance with Article 63(2) of the Constitution, the Electoral Commission starting on today Monday August 31, 2020 until Friday 4th September 2020 will conduct field activities for the purpose of demarcating the above Constituencies.

Download full EC’s statement: On Demarcation of Parliamentary Constituencies for 2020-2021 General Elections.

“The activities will involve conducting consultative meetings with stakeholders in each district to confirm Administrative Units that constitute the Counties, City Divisions and Municipalities and defining boundaries of these units” statement reads partially.

Byabakama says that during the above period, the Electoral Commission will also conduct the demarcation of Local Government Electoral Areas and re-organisation of Polling Stations in affected Parishes/Wards in 180 (one hundred and eighty) newly-created Town Councils and Sub Counties which are located in various parts of the country, and were created after the general demarcation and reorganisation exercises which were conducted in September 2019.

READ ALSO: Full Speech: Justice Byabakama Unveils Electoral Commission 2020/2021 Revised Roadmap

“The purpose of demarcation of these Local Government Electoral Areas is to absorb the above new creations into the General Elections 2020/2021” statement reads partially.

It adds that the demarcation of Local Government Electoral Areas will also enable the Commission to clearly define and advise Political Parties and Organisations and other stakeholders on the areas of representation for Directly Elected Councilors and Women Councilors in the affected Town Councils and Sub Counties.

READ ALSO: EC National Update Of Voters Register Aimed At Smoothening Elections-Byabakama

“The Commission calls upon on all stakeholders to take note of this activity and to participate as required, and in accordance with the guidelines for the activity” reads statement.

Accessdome.com: an accessible web community

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: