Bukimbiri County By Election-Five Candidates Nominated For Parliamentary Race

Bukimbiri County By Election-Five Candidates Nominated For Parliamentary Race

By Spy Uganda

Yesterday, Tuesday 02 August 2022 marked the last day of nominations for the Bukimbiri County parliamentary by-election in Kisoro district and by the end of business, the Electoral Commission had nominated five candidates.

The National Resistance Movement (NRM) party candidate Eddie Kwizera nominated at about midday in the company of party officials including the party’s 1st vice national chairperson Alhajji Moses Kigongo.

The second candidate was an independent candidate Edward Muatabazi at about 1PM followed by the National Unity Platform (NUP) candidate Joshua Mutabazi.


The youthful NUP candidate says he is ready to facelift the roads, education and health systems in Bukimbiri once elected.

On the first day of nominations, two candidates were nominated, namely; FDC’s James Owebeyi and independent Asigario Turyagyenda.


The 5 candidates nominated have 6 days to campaign before voting on 11th august.

The Court of Appeal on June 6 nullified the victory of Kwizera as Bukimbiri County MP after an application filed by Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) party candidate James Owebeyi proved that the electoral process was manipulated.

During the January 2021 parliamentary elections, Kwizera polled 11,821 votes and his closest competitor, Asgario Turyagenda (Ind) got 11,330.
The petitioner, Owebeyi, got 104 while Martin Muhereza (Ind) got 167.

Accessdome.com: an accessible web community

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *