Coach Mckinstry Summons Uganda Cranes CECAFA Squad

Coach Mckinstry Summons Uganda Cranes CECAFA Squad

By Brian Bariyo Tumuramye

Uganda Cranes head coach Johnathan McKinstry has summoned the squad that will start preparations ahead of the 2019 CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup.

Only home-based players have been summoned to the team that kicks off training on Wednesday, 27th November 2019.

The tournament will be hosted in Uganda and is slated for 7th to 19th of December 2019 in Kampala.,McKinstry named a total of 30 players all home-based, from who he will name Uganda’s final team.

Football For Good Academy teenage goalkeeper Jack Komakech, 16, is part of the squad. Komakech is a member of the Uganda U-17 team and featured at the CAF U-17 tournament in Dar-es-Salaam, Tanzania. He joins experienced Charles Lukwago, James Alitho, Joel Mutakubwa and Saidi Keni. (

 KCCA FC has the most players on the team (7) with URA FC and Vipers SC following closely with five each.

Training starts on Wednesday, November 27, 2019 but will not feature players from KCCA FC, Proline FC and SC Villa players.

The three clubs still have fixtures in the first round so their players will be exempted for the first training sessions.

Uganda is in Group A of the 12 team tournament where they will face Burundi, Ethiopia and Eritrea for a right to progress to the knock-out stage.

Uganda has won the competition a record 14 times, with the first coming in 1973 and the latest in 2015.

The list of players that have been summoned

Charles Lukwago, James Alitho, Joel Mutakubwa, Jack Komakech, Sidi Keni, Paul Willa, Ashraf Mandela, Mustafa Kizza, Disan Ggaliwango, John Revita, Samuel Kato, Halid Lwaliwa, Mustafa Mujuzi, Patrick Mbowa, Nicholas Kasozi, Shafik Kagimu, Hassan Ssenyonjo, Muzamir Mutyaba, Karim Watambala, Krizestom Ntambi, Allan Okello, Bright Anukani, Joachim Ojera, Ben Ocen, Viane Ssekajugo, Allan Kayiwa, Joel Madondo, Fahad Bayo, Steven Mukwala, Edrisa Lubega. an accessible web community

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *