CoU Set To Appoint Ntagali Successor

CoU Set To Appoint Ntagali Successor an accessible web community

By Brian Bariyo Tumuramye

Kampala: The archbishop of church of Uganda his grace Stanley Ntagali will be replaced on Wednesday 28th August 2019 by a new archbishop appointed by the house of bishops that will sit at Namirembe Cathedral.

According to the statement from the provincial secretary Rev. Can Capt. William Ongeng, the election of the archbishop will be held on the above date and eligible candidates are 33 out of 37 bishops.

The statement adds that a bishop to be elected archbishop should be 50 years of age and a serving bishop of a diocese.

Ntagali was elected as the 8th bishop on December 16, 2012 replacing His grace Henry Luke Orombi who asked for an early retirement.

The 9th bishop who will be elected on will be enthroned on 1st march 2020.

Currently Archbishop Ntagali is engaged in a farewell tour, visiting all 37 dioceses in the Church of Uganda to say good-bye. The Archbishop-elect will say farewell to his current diocese of Kampala as it prepares prepare to elect a new Bishop.

An Archbishop automatically serves as the Diocesan Bishop of Kampala Diocese as well as Archbishop of the entire Church of Uganda. Kampala Diocese will say farewell to their Bishop and prepare to receive a new Bishop, who is also the Archbishop.

However after his appointment, the new archbishop will be installed on Sunday, 1st March 2020 at St. Paul’s Cathedral, Namirembe.

Past Archbishops

1st Archbishop Leslie Brown, a British missionary and was the first Archbishop of Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, and Boga-Zaire (1961-1966)

2nd Archbishop Erica Sabiti (1966 – 1974)

3rd Archbishop Janani Luwum (1974 – 1977). Martyred in 1977.

4th Archbishop Silvanus Wani (1977 – 1983). In 1980, Rwanda, Burundi, and Boga-Zaire became a separate, Francophone Province, and Uganda became its own Province.

5th Archbishop Yona Okoth (1983 – 1995)

6th Archbishop Livingstone Mpalanyi-Nkoyoyo (1995 – 2004)

7th Archbishop Henry Luke Orombi (2004 – 2012)

8th Archbishop Stanley Ntagali (2012-2020) an accessible web community

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: