FUFA President Magogo Overwhelmingly Voted On CAF Executive Committee

FUFA President Magogo Overwhelmingly Voted On CAF Executive Committee

Accessdome.com: an accessible web community

By Andrew Irumba

Egypt: The Federation of Uganda Football Associations (FUFA) President Eng. Moses Magogo was today 18 July 2019 elected to the Confederation of Africa Football (CAF) Executive Committee.

Eng. Magogo beat his challenger Leodegar Tenga from Tanzania by 33 to 19 votes in a poll conducted during the 41st CAF Ordinary Assembly at Marriot Zamalek Hotel in Cairo, Egypt.

He will now represent the Eastern and Central Africa Zone (CECAFA Region) on the CAF Executive Committee where he has been serving as a co-opted member.
“It is a big honour to be voted on the CAF Executive and I thank my Executive Committee at FUFA, delegates, the team that has campaigning for me. This is not a personal victory alone but a victory for us all. As young leaders on the African continent, we need to come up with the best ideas to help elevate Africa like the other confederations,” Magogo attested.

Moses Magogo In the Middle with other CAF delegates in Egypt

For the past years, Magogo has been a co-opted CAF Executive Committee member but had no voting powers.
“I thank the Almighty Allah. I thank those who voted for me and those who did not. I thank the other African countries that voted for me. In a special way, I thank my people from Uganda, the football family. We shall continue to work as a unit,” he added

“It has been my dream from 20 years ago that one day I would be a CAF Executive Committee member. I am so happy that I have achieved it now…”

These were the opening remarks from the newly elected Confederation of Africa Football (CAF) Executive Committee member Moses Magogo at Aida Ballroom Hall in Mariott Hotel, Zamalek in Cairo Egypt.

FIFA and CAF Delegates at the Function

Other results:

Libya’s Abdulhakim Abraheem Abdulrarazzik Al Shalmani beat Amar Bahloul from Algeria 29-21 to take the Northern Zone seat.

For the Southern Zone slot, Mauritius’ Mohamad Ally Samir Sobha beat four other candidates in a one-sided poll.

Sobha tallied 38 votes, Kamanga had 10 and Adam Mthetwa from Eswatini had only two votes

Elvis Raja Chetty (Seychelles) and Felton Kamambo (Zimbabwe) one vote apiece.


Three candidates from the Western Zone A, Western Zone B, and Central Zone were un-opposed.

Senegal’s Augustin Senghor (Western Zone A), Sita Sangare (Burkina Faso) for Western Zone B and Central Africa Republic’s Patrice Edouard Ngaissona for Central zone.

At the same congress, CAF President Ahmad Ahmad made stunning remarks to personalities he thinks are letting down the interests of Africa as a confederation.“We are lagging behind all confederations. I will not name names of those who have frustrated us. I turned to FIFA for counseling reasons. We know what happened to FIFA some time ago that problems until Gianni Infantino emerged and had turned around FIFA,” Ahmad, who hails from Madagascar fumed.

Meanwhile, the CAF President Ahmad Ahmad will be expected to address the media during a special press conference, at Eugenie Ballroom, Cairo Marriot Hotel.

Accessdome.com: an accessible web community

Accessdome.com: an accessible web community

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: