FUFA   Unveils Nominations For Annual Football Awards

FUFA Unveils Nominations For Annual Football Awards

Accessdome.com: an accessible web community

By Brian Bariyo Tumuramye

The Federation of Uganda Football Associations (FUFA) has unveiled more contenders as we build up to the annual Airtel-FUFA awards.

At the launch of the awards last month, FUFA revealed nominations for only three categories which included FUFA Male and Female nominees) and Team Fans of the year but on Monday this week five more categories were added nominated.

Male Coach Of The Year

KCCA FC boss Mike Hillary Mutebi and former Proline manager Shafiq Bisaso are the front-runners for the 2019 FUFA manager of the year award, after being named among the nominees, Police FC’s Abdallah Mubiru also features on the three-man shortlist.

Mutebi, who has won the accolade for the last three years, guided KCCA FC to the  StarTimes Uganda Premier League, CECAFA Kagame Cup in Rwanda and the FUFA Super Cup.

Mubiru guided Uganda Cranes to qualify for the 2020 Championship of African Nations (CHAN) while Bisaso helped Proline FC to win the StarTimes FUFA Big League and the Stanbic Uganda Cup. He also helped his team beat Malawian side Masters Security on their maiden continual bow.

For Mubiru, he guided Uganda Cranes to the 2020 Championship of African Nations (CHAN) while Bisaso helped Proline FC to win the StarTimes FUFA Big League and the Stanbic Uganda Cup.

Women Football Coach Of The Year

For the first time, the coaches in Women’s football will have their own category and the nominees include Ayub Khalifa, Oliver Mbekeka, and Farida Ndaula.

Ayub helped Kawempe Muslim Ladies to reach the FUFA Women Elite League playoffs and was also in charge of the Uganda U17 Girls’ national team that won the maiden COSAFA U17 Championship.

Mbekeka led Lady Doves to two finals (FUFA Women Elite League and FUFA Women’s Cup) while Ndaula helped Makerere University to clinch the FUFA Women’s Cup, their first major title in history.

FUFA Member Association Award

Another category introduces this year is the Airtel FUFA Member Associations’ award that is aimed at rewarding excelling FUFA Members.

In total, FUFA is composed of 34 members following the admission of the Futsal Association of Uganda.

The nominees for this year include; KCCA FC, Buganda Region Football Association (BRFA) and Uganda Beach Soccer Association (UBSA).

Beach Soccer player of the Year

In beach soccer, St. Lawrence duo of Ronald Mutebi and Suleiman Ochero will contend for the gong alongside Herbert Luboyera of Mutoola Beach Soccer Club
Mutebi was named the best goalkeeper in the 2018/19 league while Ochero finished as the top scorer with 29 goals in 19 games and was named the Most Valuable Player.

Upcoming Talent of the year

In the Airtel FUFA Upcoming talent category, Sadat Anaku who won the accolade last year has been nominated alongside Garvin Kizito Mugweri and Davis Sekajja.

This is the fifth successive year that the Airtel FUFA Awards are organized running them ‘Celebrating Uganda’s finest footballers’.

This year’s awards function will be held on 14th December at Speke Resort, Munyonyo.

List of Wards are;

1 – FUFA Male Player of the Year 2019
2 – FUFA Female Player of the Year 2019
3 – FUFA Best XI 2019 (Men)
4 – FUFA Best XI 2019 (Women)
5 – FUFA Coach of the Year 2019
6 – FUFA Women Football Coach of the Year
7 – FUFA Presidential Award
8 – FUFA Fair Play Award 2019 (UPL)
9 – FUFA Upcoming Talent Award 2019 (FJL)
10 – FUFA Beach Soccer Player of the Year
11 – FUFA Fans’ Favorite Uganda foreign-based Player
12 – Best Squad (Club/National Team) of a particular Year
13 – FUFA Member Associations’ Award
14 – Team Fans of the Year (FUFA Competitions)

The complete list of categories and nominees

 FUFA Female Player of the Year

-Juliet Nalukenge (Kawempe Muslim)
-Fauzia Najjemba (Isra Soccer Academy)
-Daisy Nakaziro (Lady Doves)
-Lillian Mutuuzo (Kampala Queens)
-Hasifah Nassuna (UCU Lady Cardinals)
-Ruth Aturo (UCU Lady Cardinals)
-Leticia Nabbosa (Lady Doves)
-Margaret Kunihira (Kawempe Muslim)
-Shadia Nankya (Uganda Martyrs)
-Amina Nababi (Makerere University)
-Shamirah Nalujja (Isra Soccer Academy)
-Maureen Kinavudori (UCU Lady Cardinals)

FUFA Male Coach of the year

-Abdallah Mubiru (Police FC)
-Mutebi Mike Hillary (KCCA FC)
-Bisaso Shafiq (Proline FC)

FUFA Women’s football coach of the year

-Oliver Mbekeka (Lady Doves),
-Ayub Khalifa Kiyingi (Kawempe Muslim Ladies)
-Ndaula Fred (Makerere University)

Fair play award

-Police FC
-Maroons FC

Upcoming talent award

-Mugweri Gavin Kizito (SC Villa)
-Anaku Sadat (KCCA SA)
-Ssekajja Davis (Bright Stars FC JT)

Beach Soccer player of the Year

-Luboyera Herbert (Mutola)
-Ochero Sulaiman (St Lawrence)
-Mutebi Ronald (St Lawrence)

FUFA Member Association Award

-Uganda Beach Soccer Association (UBSA)
-Buganda region Football Association
-KCCA Football Club

Team Fans of the year

-Onduparak FC
-SC Villa
-Tooro United FC
-Acholi Province
-West Nile Province
-Lango Province
-Bunyoro Province

Male player of the year

-Shafiq Kagimu (URA)
-Saidi Kyeyune (URA)
-Mike Mutyaba (KCCA)
-Viane Ssekajjugo (Wakiso Giants)
-Joel Mutakubwa (Kyetume)
-Bashir Mutanda (SC Villa)
-Joel Madondo (Busoga United)
-Daniel Sserunkuma (Vipers)
-Allan Okello (KCCA)
-Paul Mucureezi (Mbarara City)
-Deogratious Ojok (BUL)
-Bright Anukani (Proline)
-Hillary Mukundane (Mbarara City)
-Mustafa Kizza (KCCA)
-Allan Kayiwa (Vipers)
-Ivan Bogere (Proline)

Accessdome.com: an accessible web community

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: