Parliament Finally Approves 46 New Counties Rising Numbers Of MPs In 11th House To 527

Parliament Finally Approves 46 New Counties Rising Numbers Of MPs In 11th House To 527 an accessible web community

By Spy Uganda

Kampala: Parliament has on 30th, July 2020 Thursday approved the creation of 46 new counties on addition to the 167 counties already existing.

The move to form new counties was initiated by the Minister of Local Government Raphael Magyezi who tabled the motion for resolution of Parliament for creation of new counties under article 179 of the Constitution.

Among the new counties approved by Parliament are; Kiboga West, Buhweju West, Bugangaizi South, Chkwi East, Bulanda, Kwania North, Kagoma North, Buwekula South, Buyanja East, Ngariam, Agago West, Bukanga North, Bukimbiri and Nakaseke Central.

Others include; Nakawa East, Nakawa West, Kapir, Butiru, Kioga North, Bokora East, Napore West, Mawogola West, Otuke East, Ruhama East, Isingiro West, T’oo, Ochero, Soi, Namisindwa, Gweri, Pingire, Bunghoko Central, Aringa East, Kyaka Central, Ruhinda South, Bushigai, Gogonyo, Busiki North, West Budama North East, Maruzi North, Dodoth North, Rwampara East, Buhaguzi East, Nwoya East, Namayengo South, Elgon North and Samia-Bugwe South.

The Deputy Attorney General Jack Kafuuzi revealed that the new counties now raises total constituencies to 353 from the previous 296  that include 10 new cities which became operational in July 2020. And each city has 2 Divisions which are equivalent to Municipalities.

However there was scuffle in parliament at the time of passing the bill to form the new counties after a cross section of residents of Tororo district petitioned the Speaker of Parliament, Rebecca Kadaga, seeking her intervention in regard to the proposed demarcation of West Budama County North-East out of West Budama County North.

In their petition to the Speaker presented on Thursday, 30 July 2020, the Padhola Elders’ Forum, the Chairperson NRM Electoral Commission, Tanga Odoi and the Tororo District Local Government Speaker said that what was approved by Cabinet is contrary to what was agreed by the Tororo District Council.

According to the lead petitioner, Richard Machika,  the district council created West Budama County North-East comprising of six sub counties including; Kisoko, Petta, Nagongera Town Council, Nagongera Sub County and Katajula while the existing West Budama County North comprises six sub counties including; Sopsop, Paya, Nawire, Sere, Kirewa and Soni.

Machika said that what was approved by Cabinet gives West Budama County North-East only five sub counties; Nagongera Sub County, Nogengera Town Council, Katagula and Soni Sub County.

“The district agreed to divide the sub counties among the two Counties equally and this is what we need clearly demarcated,” he said.

The Rt.Hon.Speaker Alitwala Kadaga pledged to address the issue with the Minister of Local Government. an accessible web community

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: