Rwampara District Elections Flop Again

Rwampara District Elections Flop Again

By Micheal Atwakiire

 Rwampara: Elections for the interim LCV Chairperson for Rwampara district, which were supposed to be held on Monday flopped again, due to low turn up of the Councillors.

Rwampara was curved out of  Mbarara on July 1st, 2019. Remember the same elections were supposed to be held last week on Wednesday but flopped after only four out of the seven Councillors turned up, which forced the district registrar Nicholas Twinomujuni to postpone the election up to Monday July 29th, 2019, but unfortunately  it wasn’t possible.

Some of  the Councillors who didn’t turn up yesterday are: Hon Jordan Musinguzi  Councillor Mwizi sub County, Justine Kakyara lady Councillor Bugamba sub County and Annah Kansiime, the Councillor Rugando sub County, although the reasons why they  didn’t attend aren’t yet known . Those who turned up include Robert Arinanye of Bugamba, Asaph Muhangi of Ndeija, Alice Nakuya and Patience Tumwesigye of Mwizi Sub County.

The race for the interim LCV Chairperson is between Robert Arinanye of Bugamba Sub County and Jordan Musinguzi of Mwizi Sub County.

Charles Ngabirano, Rwampara County legislator, revealed his worries that things like these will bring crippled service delivery.

“It’s very unfortunate because things like these ones shouldn’t be taken for granted. They may lead to crippled service delivery in our area yet the people we represent dearly need service delivery.  I therefore ask my fellow leaders to work together and take this issue as a serious matter.”

He added that “We cried for this district, so let’s not embarrass those who heard our cry by granting us what we asked them.”

Before it was cut off from Mbarara district, Rwampara was known for conflicts  among leaders, especially during and after elections. In the recent parliamentary elections of 2015/16, at least two voters died due to conflicts and fights which erupted in the area among the then NRM flag bearer aspirants; Vincent Kyamadiidi Mujuni the then area MP, Charles Ngabirano the current area MP and Hon Gordon Mutima Kappa. an accessible web community

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *