Spy Uganda CEO Andrew Irumba Re-elected Online Representative On NAB Executive

Spy Uganda CEO Andrew Irumba Re-elected Online Representative On NAB Executive

Accessdome.com: an accessible web community

By Frank Kamuntu

Kampala: Andrew Irumba Katusabe (from rural Masika village, Buheesi, Bunyangabu) Chief Executive Officer of the mighty Spy Uganda has been re-elected as an online media representative on the National Association of Broadcasters (NAB).

This was during the Association’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) held today Thursday at Hotel Africana, Nile Hall. The chief guest was Minister of Information Communications Technology and National Guidance (ICT & NG) Dr.Chris Baryomunsi, also MP for Kinkizi East County, who was later also joined by Inspector General of Government (IGG) Betty Olive Namisango Kamya as special guest.

Irumba, who also doubles as President for Independent Online Journalists Association-Uganda (Indoja-U), an Association that brings together online media houses and journalists is serving his second term as NAB Exco-member.

Irumba was elected alongside with Sarah Kagingo, who is Soft Power news CEO and parliament speaker Jacob Oulanyah’s Head Communications.

“The Online Media has two slots on NAB Executive and so by the powers entrusted to me as Chairman Electoral Commission, I declare Andrew Irumba and Sarah Kagingo as duly elected representatives for online media on NAB executive committee,” announced Paul Oketcho, the Executive Director Uganda Media Council who presided over the elections as electoral commission Chairman.

Also, re-elected were Next Media Services CEO Kin Kariisa and Galaxy Fm’s Dr.Innocent Nahabwe as NAB Chairman and Vice Chairman respectively.

In his remarks, Dr.Baryomunsi said Government was working with other stakeholders to have the media tribunal constituted. H also said that NAB proposal to be considered in the national budget was something very positive that Government was seriously discussing and would soon give concrete response.

Members used the occasion to put Uganda Communications Commission on spot over what they termed ‘exorbitant’ charges to members when applying for licenses and other services.

“UCC is a Government agency whose operations are funded by the National budget through the taxes we pay. So why should they charge members exorbitantly as if they are a business entity? It’s like we pay twice. We pay taxes which is later passed on to UCC to run the commission then again we pay to UCC exorbitantly, why?” Metro Fm CEO Capt. Francis Babu wondered.

Below Is Full List Of Newly Elected NAB Executive Committee Members

  1. Chairman-Kin Kariisa (Next Media Services)
  2. Vice-Chairman- Dr.Innocent Nahabwe (Galaxy Fm Zzina!)
  3. Treasurer-Moses Ateng (Vision Group)
  4. Secretary-General-Joseph Beyanga (Nation Media Group)
  5. Northern Representative-Jimmy Okello
  6. Faith-Based Representative-Pastor Dr.Joseph Sserwadda (Dream TV)
  7. Pay TV-Hassan Saleh (MD Multi Choice)
  8. Group Representative-Christine Nagujja (Star Times)
  9. North East Representative-Abdullah Aziz
  10. Central Region Rep.-Micheal Kawooya Mwebe (MD CBS)
  11. Eastern Representative-Anthony Wanyotto
  12. West Nile Representative-Anguzu Keita
  13. Western Region Ankole/Kigezi Sub-Regions- Andrew Mafundo (won with 39 votes against his rival Gad Kwikiriza who garnered 06 votes)
  14. Western Region-Tooro Sub-Region-Bruce Katuramu (VoT Fort Portal)
  15. Online Media Representatives (2 slots) Andrew Irumba (president Indoja-U) and Sarah Kagingo.


Enjoy the pictorial below;

Accessdome.com: an accessible web community

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *