St Lawrence University To Face UCU In UFL Final

St Lawrence University To Face UCU In UFL Final an accessible web community

By Brian Bariyo Tumuramye

Kampala: A new champion will be revealed when St Lawrence takes on UCU in the 2019 final University Football League (UFL) scheduled to be held on Sunday, 3rd November at the Mandela National Stadium, Namboole.

These two teams are meeting for the first time in an epic clash, for starters, UCU overcame Bugema University 4-2 in a tense post-match penalty victory following a 3 all draw over the two legs.

On the other hand, St Lawrence University were also 3-2 winners, in post-match penalties after a two all stalemate over the two legs on aggregate.

Uganda Christian University (UCU) team

St. Lawrence defeated the 2017 champions Uganda Martyrs University at Nkozi to progress to their first ever University League final.

During the second leg, Missi Ssemugera headed the visitors ahead off a well delivered Collins Sseruwu free kick on the quarterhour mark and take a half time lead.

Derrick Kayondo found the equalizer, 10 minutes into the second stanza and force a shootout, following a 2-2 aggregate score, the two sides had to be separated on post-match penalties with St Lawrence, who are coached by Davis Nnono victorious 3-2.

The first semi-final witnessed UCU fall 2-1 in the return leg at the UCU main grounds in Mukono.

Aldrine Kambale scored a penalty to give UCU the lead on the stroke of half time.

Kaye Kizito’s brace in the 68th and 85th minutes inspired Bugema to victory in normal time and force a shoot-out after a 3 all draw.

Uganda Christian University won the dramatic and tense shoot out 4-3.

Players such as Tadeo Lwanga (Makerere University), Yassar Mugerwa (Nkumba University), Joshua ‘Letti’ Lubwama (Makerere University), Martin Sseruwagi (Nkumba University), Ibrahim Kazindula (KIU), Hannington Ssebwalunyo (Makerere and Ndejje Universities), Albert Mugisa (Ndejje University), Viane Ssekajugo (Kampala University), Geofrey Akabwai (Kampala International University), among others are vivid products of this enticing league.

Previous Winners:

2018 – Kyambogo University
2017 – Uganda Martyrs University, Nkozi
2016 – Kampala University
2015 – Makerere University Business School (MUBS)
2014 – Makerere University Business School (MUBS)
2013 – Kampala University
2012 – Makerere University an accessible web community

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: