The 2019 GBJ Golf Tourney Is Underway At Entebbe Golf Club

The 2019 GBJ Golf Tourney Is Underway At Entebbe Golf Club an accessible web community an accessible web community

By Brian Bariyo Tumuramye

Entebbe: The 22nd edition of the JBG Golf Championship kicked off on Wednesday, October 2, at Entebbe Golf Club with round one of the professionals whose total kitty is Shs20M. Professionals will play 54 holes over three days before the main event on Saturday, October 5, 2019.

Spy Uganda has learnt that the Gauff Consultants (U) Ltd have for over 22 years remained committed to the long term marriage with the management of East and Central Africa’s oldest golfing facility, Entebbe Golf Club and this annual amateur and professionals tournament has firmly cemented its roots at the lake side club.

It was a double edge for the championship, on Wednesday October 2, as professionals took to the field for round one of their 54 holes event, the rest of the world was being informed at the company’s home in Kololo, Kampala with a mega launch.

As feat would dictate, JBG is celebrating 40 years in Uganda Entebbe, as the club’s official Wiltshire Marvin Kagoro expressed delight towards the sponsors who have become parents, “I thank JBG Company for the support rendered to us and we are looking forward to great tournament,” he said.

The professional kit is Shs 20M with their cut from the already 33 players being determined after round two. Home bred professional Herman Deco Mutebi comfortably led day one with a 4-under par score of 67 on day one.

Close to 200 golfers from different clubs in Uganda will grace the main event on Saturday. Last year, Chinese Garrett Chen and lady president Eva Magala smiled to victory in the male and female catergories respectively. Garrett tallied 41 stable ford points and Magala returned to the club house a total of 38 points to win on countback.

As the professionals wind down their business on Friday dusk, the main event on the following dawn will usher in the big do many await to face Entebbe’s famous dog-legs and the largely challenging course with a cool breeze off the nearly Lake Victoria.

By the close of business, there will be assured merry making at the famous 19th hole with the official prize giving ceremony, speeches, dinner and surely, entertainment until the wee-hours of Sunday morning.

Golfers cannot wait to swing into action.

Roll of Honour:

  • 1998 – Joshua Tuhumwire
  • 1999 – Stephen Kasaija
  • 2000- David Kasimbazi
  • 2001 – Moses Kitaka
  • 2002- Ronald Kidega
  • 2003 – Phrase Lubega
  • 2004 – Deo Akope
  • 2005 – Vincent Byamukama
  • 2006 – Henry Byaruhanga
  • 2007 – Peter Ssendawula
  • 2008 – Silver Opio
  • 2009 – Godwin Eyoki
  • 2010 – Steven Odongo
  • 2011 – Joseph Bogera
  • 2012 – Willy Kitata
  • 2013 – Timothy Okwi
  • 2014 – Shou Ta Shang
  • 2015- Ibra Bagalana
  • 2016- Edwin Tabaro
  • 2017- Jude Ochieng an accessible web community an accessible web community

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: