Uganda Hippos’ Coach Byekwaso Unveils Full Squad Ahead Of AFCON U20 Zonal Qualifiers an accessible web community

By Brian Bariyo Tumuramye

Kampala: Vipers trio Bobosi Byaruhanga, Aziz Kayondo and Najib Yiga have been included on the Uganda U20 Hippos travelling squad for the upcoming Total CAF U-20 Zonal Qualification tourney (CECAFA U20 Championship).

READ ALSO: Full Coverage: South Sudan Punches Uganda 1-0 In AFCON 2021 Qualifier

The trio were subject to a war of words between Vipers head coach Fred Kajoba and Hippos coach Morley Byekwaso.

The latter demanded that the players be released back to the club for their preparations for the CAF Champions League qualifier against Al-Hilal.

But the requests fell on deaf ears as Byekwaso has decided to include them on his squad that will travel for the tournament due in Arusha, Tanzania between November 23 – December 6.

READ ALSO: 2020-21 Uganda PL: Teams Warm Up Ahead Of December Kick-off

Singer Bebe Cool’s son Alpha Thierry Ssali also makes the final Hippos squad. The midfielder has been training with the team and was involved in all their build games against KCCA and the U17 side where he impressed the coaches.

On the other hand, Ivan Asaba has been included after overcoming an ankle sprain he picked up during one of the test matches.

Defender Gavin Kizito also makes the squad after recovering from malaria together with Ismail Mugulusi who has also had to shake off a muscle problem.

READ ALSO: AFCON Qualifiers: South Sudan Arrives In Uganda To Battle Cranes

Only two goalkeepers have made the final squad including Jack Komakech and Denis Ssenyondwa Kaala.

There is no place on the team for Police FC forward Derrick Kakooza who has been surprisingly left out together with KCCA midfielder Andrew Kawooya.

Mbarara City’s Ivan Eyam, Sunday Opio, Robert Kitabalwa, Wilber Wamala, Jamal Masiko and Umar Lutalo are also dropped.

The Uganda U-20 team is expected to set off on Friday November 20, to Tanzania where the CECAFA tournament is set to kick off on November 23.

READ ALSO: UPL: Tooro United Signs Ex-St Mary’s SS Kitende Striker Ojara Ahead Of Season Reopening

The CECAFA U20 qualifiers will see 11 countries competing; Uganda is in group B together with Burundi, Eritrea and South Sudan.

Hosts Tanzania were placed in group A with Somalia, Rwanda and Djibouti, while Ethiopia plays in group C with Kenya and Sudan.

U20 Squad:

Goalkeepers: Jack Komakech and Denis Ssenyondwa Kaala

Defenders: Richard Bbosa, Abdu Aziizi Kayondo, Musa Ramathan, Gavin Kizito Mugweri, Kenneth Ssemakula, Joseph Kafumbe

Midfielders: Isma Mugulusi,  Steven Sserwadda, Joseph Kizza Bukenya, Ivan Asaba, Yiga Najib, Ashiraf Mulindi, Bobosi Byaruhanga, Alpha Thierry Ssali

Forwards: Ivan Bogere, Richard Basangwa, Faisal Wabyoona, Raymond Onyai

Head Coach: Morley Byekwaso an accessible web community an accessible web community

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: