Just In:Bobi Wine Fires DP Spy Lubega Mukaaku From NUP

Just In:Bobi Wine Fires DP Spy Lubega Mukaaku From NUP

By Spy uganda

Kampala: As the country prepares for 2021 general elections, political pressure has escalated in National Unity Platform (NUP) led by hopeful President Robert Kyagulanyi Ssentamu aka Bobi Wine after party members rejected Lubega Mukaku from participating in the party elections.

According to our sources, former presidential candidate Samuel Walter Lubega Mukaaku is accused of promoting DP candidates in NUP which is against party constitution rules that emphasizes unity and equality of all members.

Source adds that Mukaaku who has been the vice chairman of the National Elections Management Commission has been fired together with two commissioners including Ssebuwufu John Mary Kiyimba, and Jeremiah Keeya Mwanje who are former leaders in the Democratic Party (DP).


According to our insider sources, these commissioners have been promoting former DP leaders in NUP and also still had love to go back into their party led Nobert Mao hence looking like spies in NUP.

However, in defence Mr Mukaaku has told our reporter that it is true he promoted DP candidates however, not against NUP members but instead NRM candidates who were backed by ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM).


“I rather have youths from DP, than those of ruling NRM. I couldn’t look on as NRM take advantage of money to win youth positions. It was better to have youths from DP,” says Mr Mukaaku.

Meanwhile, after firing Mukaaku, Bobi Wine appointed his long time musician-friend Mr Tonny Bikumbi popularly known as Tony Houls leaving many wondering about ghetto gladiator’s swift decisions.

Mukaaku a DP die-hard’s firing comes after eleven Members of Parliament who previously subscribed to the Democratic Party (DP) announced their departure and joined the National Unity Platform (NUP) a week after it was established by the Kyaddondo East MP Robert Kyagulanyi Ssentamu.


Those who crossed included Busiro East MP Medard Lubega Ssegona, Bukoto East MP Florence Namayanja, Bukomansimbi Woman MP Veronica Nanyondo, Kyotera Woman MP Robinah Ssentongo, Butambala County MP Muwanga Kivumbi, Kalungu West MP Joseph Ssewungu Gonzaga, Masaka Municipality MP Mathias Mpuuga, Mukono Municipality MP Betty Nambooze, Makindye Ssaabagabo MP Ssempala Emmanuel Kigozi, Makindye West MP Allan Ssewayana and Moses Kasibante.

The Democratic Party led by Nobert Mao was left with five MPs that included Luttamaguzi Ssemakula–Nakaseke south, Deogratias Kiyingi–Bukomansimbi, Mary Babirye Kabanda–Masaka, Lyandro Komakech–Gulu municipality and Okot Peter–Kochi county.

Accessdome.com: an accessible web community

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *