NBS TV’s Kin Kariisa, Galaxy FM’s Innocent Nahabwe Retained As NAB Top Leaders

NBS TV’s Kin Kariisa, Galaxy FM’s Innocent Nahabwe Retained As NAB Top Leaders

By Frank Kamuntu

Kampala: Next Media Services CEO, Kin Kariisa, has again been re-elected as Chairman National Association of Broadcasters(NAB), TheSpy Uganda reports.

This was during the Association’s Annual General Meeting held today Thursday at Hotel Africana, Nile Hall.

The chief guest was Minister of Information Communications Technology and National Guidance (ICT & NG) Dr.Chris Baryomunsi, also MP for Kinkizi East County, who was later joined by the Inspector General of Government (IGG) Betty Olive Namisango Kamya as a special guest.

In his remarks, Dr.Baryomunsi said Government was working with other stakeholders to have the media tribunal constituted. H also said that NAB proposal to be considered in the national budget was something very positive that Government was seriously discussing and would soon give concrete response.


Members used the occasion to put Uganda Communications Commission on spot over what they termed ‘exorbitant’ charges to members when applying for licenses and other services.

“UCC is a Government agency whose operations are funded by the National budget through the taxes we pay. So why should they charge members exorbitantly as if they are a business entity? It’s like we pay twice. We pay taxes which is later passed on to UCC to run the commission then again we pay to UCC exorbitantly, why?” Metro Fm CEO Capt. Francis Babu wondered.

Kin Kariisa, who had already served two terms, was unopposed for the seat of Chairman. He is deputized by Dr. Innocent Nahabwe-CEO Galaxy FM who was also re-elected as Vice Chairman.

The election was presided over by Mr.Paul Oketcho, Chairman Uganda Media Council.

After scooping the victory, Kin pledged to members that he will push Government and its agencies to achieve the following in his 3rd term, though not sure if it’s the last one;

  1. Harmonize media to create a bigger and unified umbrella media body
  2. Emphasize the amendment of the 2% levy on media houses by the Uganda Communications Act (UCC) of 2013
  3. Operationalize the Communications Tribunal (the draft regulations for which have been availed)
  4. Lobby the Government to deliberately budget for the media appropriately to ensure business continuity for media stakeholders as a whole. Government should stop asking for free airtime for national events, they should support the industry by buying such airtime. “Media can only add them more time from what they have bought, but not complete free airtime when we pay taxes and other expenses,” he said.


Meanwhile, the Association also re-elected Andrew Irumba Katusabe, Chief Executive Officer of the mighty Spy Uganda and Sarah Kagingo (soft power news) as an online media representatives. This is their second term as NAB Exco-members as well.

Below Is Full List Of Newly Elected NAB Executive Committee Members

  1. Chairman-Kin Kariisa (Next Media Services)
  2. Vice-Chairman- Dr.Innocent Nahabwe (Galaxy Fm Zzina!)
  3. Treasurer-Moses Ateng (Vision Group)
  4. Secretary-General-Joseph Beyanga (Nation Media Group)
  5. Northern Representative-Jimmy Okello
  6. Faith-Based Representative-Pastor Dr.Joseph Sserwadda (Dream TV)
  7. Pay TV-Hassan Saleh (MD Multi Choice)
  8. Group Representative-Christine Nagujja (Star Times)
  9. North East Representative-Abdullah Aziz
  10. Central Region Rep.-Micheal Kawooya Mwebe (MD CBS)
  11. Eastern Representative-Anthony Wanyotto
  12. West Nile Representative-Anguzu Keita
  13. Western Region Ankole/Kigezi Sub-Regions- Andrew Mafundo (won with 39 votes against his rival Gad Kwikiriza who garnered 06 votes)
  14. Western Region-Tooro Sub-Region-Bruce Katuramu (VoT Fort Portal)
  15. Online Media Representatives (2 slots) Andrew Irumba (president Indoja-U) and Sarah Kagingo.
Accessdome.com: an accessible web community

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *