President Museveni Re-appoints Justice Byabakama As EC Chairperson, Nominates New Commissioners Ahead Of 2026 General Elections  

President Museveni Re-appoints Justice Byabakama As EC Chairperson, Nominates New Commissioners Ahead Of 2026 General Elections  

By Spy Uganda

Kampala: President Museveni has extended the tenure of Justice Simon Byabakama, reappointing him as the chairperson of the Electoral Commission ahead of 2026 general elections.

In a letter dated January 5, 2024, addressed to the Speaker of Parliament, President Museveni submitted a list of nominees, including Byabakama as the chairperson, Hajjati Aisha Lubega as the deputy chairperson, and Stephen Tashobya as a commissioner, to the appointment’s committee for vetting.

Additionally, Museveni put forth new nominations for commissioners, which include Dr. Sallie Simba Kayunga, a lecturer at Makerere University, Robert Kasule Ssebunya, a former legislator from Nansana Municipality, Anthony Akol, a former MP from Kyoga County, and Pamela Etonu Okudi, the former acting head of administration of the Electoral Commission.

The nominated individuals are now required to present their CVs to parliament for vetting and confirmation.

President Museveni’s Letter Addressed To The Speaker Of Parliament

The Electoral Commission offices have remained vacant for three days since the conclusion of the commissioners’ term on January 7, causing a temporary halt to all policy-related activities.

In response to the conclusion of their term, the Electoral Commission released a statement congratulating the members upon completion of their tenure which started January 7, 2017, to January 7, 2024.

Established under Article 60 of the 1995 Constitution of The Republic of Uganda, the Electoral Commission comprises the Chairman, Deputy Chairperson, and five other members appointed by the President with parliamentary approval. The Commission is further supported by a Secretariat led by the Secretary.

The functions of the EC are outlined under Article 61 of the 1995 Constitution of the Republic of Uganda as follows;

(a) To ensure that regular, free and fair elections are held;

(b) To organize, conduct and supervise elections and referenda in accordance with the Constitution;

(c) To demarcate constituencies in accordance with the provisions of the Constitution;

(d) To ascertain, publish and declare in writing under its seal the results of the elections and referenda;

(e) To compile, maintain, revise and update the voters’ register;

(f) To hear and determine election complaints arising before and during polling;

(g) To formulate and implement voter educational programmes relating to elections; and

(h) To perform such other functions as may be prescribed by Parliament by law.

1. Organizing, conducting and supervising various elections and referenda;

2. Compiling, maintaining, revising and updating:

a) The National Voters’ Register continuously

b) The various registers for Special Interest Groups

3. Producing and issuing voters’ cards;

4. Compiling and updating the various Voters’ Registers for Special Interest Groups and Administrative units;

5. Developing effective civic education programmes related to elections;

6. Reviewing all electoral laws in order to come up with appropriate recommendations on amendments;

7. Recruiting qualified personnel and training them in the management of elections;

8. Hearing and determining election complaints arising before and during polling; and

9. Demarcating of constituencies and electoral areas. an accessible web community

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *