Here Are Key Features On The New Police Bond Introduced To Curb Corruption & Extortion

Here Are Key Features On The New Police Bond Introduced To Curb Corruption & Extortion an accessible web community

By Spy Uganda

Kampala: The circumstances under which the police bond are issued, have attracted significant public interests due to concerns of misuse, abuse, bribery and extortions, which has an impact on the reputation of the police force.

As a result, the Justice Law and Order Sector in coordination with Police Management, through the Directorate of Research, Planning and Development, held a consultative and innovative review process, on the issuance of the police bond they came up with new features to the new police form 18 (Police Bond) to help address concerns of extortion and corruption.

The new form has now been made in form of a booklet, with three self carbonated papers of which, the original copy is to be issued to the suspect, the duplicate copy to be attached to the casefile, while the triplicate copy remains in the book. The form includes the District, station, case reference number, lock-up serial number, date on which the suspect was taken into custody, ID number and contact of the suspect and his sureties.

In addition, it has an inserted watermark shed stating police bond is free, telephone contacts (both toll free and office contacts) of the Professional Standards Unit, through which, one can report a case of extortion; the rank and name of the officer issuing the police bond. The form also has the word “NIL” inserted in the blank space, for the amount to be forfeited in the event that the suspect/surety defaults on the bond terms and conditions.

Also included is a clause to remind the person benefitting from the bond and his or her sureties, their liability in the event of defaulting on the tterms and conditions of the bond. At the back, there is an activity ladder, to document the reporting schedule of the suspect.

Police is already piloting the amended police bond in 20 districts which include the following; Kabarole, Kasese, Arua, Yumbe,Kitgum, Gulu, Kiryandongo, Tororo, Amuria, Pader,Kaberamaido, Kampala, Kyegegwa, Bundibugyo, Abim, Amudat, Nakapiripirit, Kotido, Kabongo, Moroto and Napak.

According to Police, the new form will be rolled out after an effective and successful pilot study. an accessible web community

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *