Stanbic Uganda Cup 2021: Semi-Final Draw Completed

Stanbic Uganda Cup 2021: Semi-Final Draw Completed an accessible web community

By Spy Uganda

The semi-final draw for the 2021 Stanbic Uganda Cup tournament has been held at FUFA House on Monday morning where former Uganda Cranes and Express legend Fred Tamale, winner of the cup on three occassions in 1994, 1995 and 1997 was a chief guest.

Decolas Kiiza Hantali (FUFA Deputy CEO – Football) and Aisha Nalule (FUFA Competitions Director) also attended the draw.

Express Football Club takes on BUL and Police shall battle Vipers over the two legs.

“This stage will be played over two legs. In case of a tie, the away goal’s rule will be used to determine the winner. Cautions only serve in the Stanbic Uganda Cup. 2020-21 season licenses will be used. There will be mandatory testing for the COVID-19 of all players.” Nalule told the media.

Kiiza represented the FUFA President Moses Magogo and thanked the sponsors (Stanbic Bank and Kansai Plascon).

‘’I thank the sponsors (Stanbic Bank and Kansai Plascon). We express gratitude for those who have been affected by the pandemic of COVID-19. FUFA made the decision to name URA as the CAF representative to beat the deadline and the only criteria we had was to go with the second placed team in the league. We shall name a new venue for the finals. We thank the President H.E General Yoweri Kaguta Museveni for lifting the lockdown to have Football played again after the lockdown,’’ Kiizza disclosed.

”It is good that the game has sponsors now. We did not have sponsors in our time. I recall in 1994, we were playing Posta. We had a low first half and returned to score two second half goals. The Uganda Cup is a do or die competition where every game is a cup finale,’’ Tamale stated.

Stanbic Bank is the main sponsor of this annual tournament, joined by paints gurus; Kansai Plascon whereas National broadcaster, UBC TV and the sister channel, Star Television came on board to televise at least a match per match day.

Uganda Cup (formerly Kakungulu cup) Winners since 1971

1971 – Coffee F.C

1972-1975 – Not Held

1976 – Gangama F.C

1977– Simba F.C

1978 – Nsambya F.C

1979 – KCC F.C

1980 – KCC F.C

1981 – Coffee F.C

1982 – KCC F.C

1983 – SC Villa

1984 – KCC F.C

1985 – Express F.C

1986 – SC Villa

1987 – KCC F.C

1988 – SC Villa

1989 – SC Villa

1990 – KCC F.C

1991 – Express F.C

1992 – Express F.C

1993 – KCC F.C

1994 – Express F.C

1995 – Express F.C

1996 – UEB S.C

1997 – Express F.C

1998 – SC Villa

1999 – Mbale Heroes S.C

2000 – SC Villa

2001 – Express F.C

2002 – SC Villa

2003 – Express F.C

2004 – KCC F.C

2005 – URA F.C

2006 – Express F.C

2007 – Express F.C

2007/8 – Victors S.C

2008/9 – SC Villa

2009/10 – Victors S.C

2010/11 – Simba S.C

2011/12 – URA F.C

2013/2013 – Sports Club Victoria University

2013/2014 – URA F.C

2014/15 – SC Villa

2015/16 – Vipers Sports Club

2016/17 – KCCA

2017/18 – KCCA

2018/19 – Proline

2019/20 – Cancelled because of the Coronavirus pandemic

2020/21 – still unknown. an accessible web community

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: