Uganda Hippos Qualify For AFCON U-20 Finals After Trouncing Kenya 3-1

Uganda Hippos Qualify For AFCON U-20 Finals After Trouncing Kenya 3-1 an accessible web community

By Bariyo Brian Tumuramye

Kampala: Uganda U-20 team (The Hippos) has qualified for the AFCON U-20 finals in Mauritania.

The development comes after a convincing 3-1 win over Kenya in the first of the semi-final clashes at the Black Rhino Academy sports stadium in Karatu, Tanzania.

READ ALSO: Uganda Hippos’ Coach Byekwaso Unveils Full Squad Ahead Of AFCON U20 Zonal Qualifiers

Striker Ivan Bogere scored twice, including a kick from the penalty mark to compliment defender Kenneth Semakula’s opener.

Proline forward Ivan Bogere scored a brace while Kenneth Ssemakula got the other in a game played at the Black Rhino Academy grounds in Karatu.

Uganda Hippos head coach Morley Byekwaso made one change to the team that defeated Burundi 6-1, recalling defender Musa Ramathan who was returning from suspension in the place of midfielder Ivan Asaba.

READ ALSO: Full Coverage: South Sudan Punches Uganda 1-0 In AFCON 2021 Qualifier

Hippos goalkeeper Jack Komaketch who was largely undisturbed in the first half pulled off a spectacular save from Enock Wanyama’s effort from the range at the start of the second half.

Uganda put the game to bed with a third shortly after the hour mark, Bogere stepping up to score from the penalty spot after Mugulusi was brought down inside the penalty area.

READ ALSO: AFCON Qualifiers: Mckinstry Names Final Squad To Face South Sudan

Wanyama then pulled a goal back for Kenya with eight minutes to go but it was too late for them to find a way back into the game.

The Hippos will now look to seal ultimate victory in the tournament when they play Tanzania in the final on Wednesday, December 2. The hosts defeated South Sudan 1-0 in the other semifinal

READ ALSO: AFCON Qualifiers: South Sudan Arrives In Uganda To Battle Cranes

Uganda U-20 XI: Jack Komaketch (GK), Gavin Kizito Mugweri (C), Aziz Kayondo, Musa Ramathan, Kenneth Semakula, Isma Mugulusi, Bobosi Byaruhanga, Richard Basangwa, Najib Yiga, Ivan Bogere, Steven Sserwadda

Subs: Denis Ssenyondwa Kaala (GK), Richard Bbosa, Ashraf Mulindi, Faisal Wabyoona, Joseph Kafumbe, Joseph Kizza Bukenya, Raymond Onyai, Alpha Thierry Ssali, Ivan Asaba an accessible web community

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: